Check out our special Motorcycle Website! Click here!

Hide
Show

The car driving course “Road Safety Education Program” (RSEP) is mandatory in Quebec since 2010 to obtain a Class 5 – Passenger Vehicle driver’s licence.

Road Safety Education Program (RSEP) specificities

The RSEP comprises a total of 39 hours of teaching spread out into four phases, that is 24 hours of theory taught in-class and 15 in-car sessions. As the SAAQ requires that the first phase (theory) lasts at least one month and that the three other phases (theory and in-car sessions) be spread over at least 12 months, you must allow a minimum of 13 months to complete the training and obtain a probationary driver’s licence.

Parcours-ENG

Here is the detailed pathway to obtain the Class 5 driver’s licence:

This phase starts when you register for the course and make your first payment. During that phase, you will learn about the vehicle, being a driver, the driving environment and at-risk behaviours. We will familiarize you with safe, cooperative and responsible driving behaviours.
The program, the course material, the SAAQ website and the pathway or “Teaching Aid” will be explained to you and you will go through the first 5 2-hour Modules (theory):
Module Description Lenght
1 Theory Module focused on the vehicle  2 h
2 Theory Module focused on the driver  2 h
3 Theory Module focused on the environment  2 h
4 Theory Module focused on at-risk behaviours  2 h
5 Revision of the first four modules and written evaluation.  2 h
The written evaluation itself is free of charge but you must pay to obtain your learner’s licence at the SAAQ. We have created a special page to help you plan your budget where all fees and costs are detailed.
Once the written evaluation of Module 5 is corrected and is a pass, we give you a Knowledge test certificate.

Please note: If the test is a fail, you must plan for a delay before you can try again so that you have time to review your learnings, do or redo the exercises suggested online, or review one or more modules. You cannot get to Phase 2 before graduating Phase 1 et obtaining your learner’s licence.

To obtain your learner’s licence, you must go to an SAAQ outlet with the following documents:
1. Your Knowledge test certificate (proves you passed)
2. Two IDs, ideally one with your picture
3. If you are a minor, you need the Consent of Person Having Parental Authority form, filled-out and signed
4. Money to pay for the learner’s licence at the SAAQ (cost of the licence includes cost of the picture; click here to access current costs table)
5. Something to fix your hair: they WILL take your picture! 🙂
Now you can move on to Phase 2.
Once you have your learner’s licence, you enter into Phase 2 of your training, which is the beginning of the 15 hours of practical in-car sessions you must do to obtain your probatory driver’s licence.
In Phase 2, you wil learn basic manoeuvers in easy driving environments. We will teach you safe, cooperative and responsible driving behaviours. This phase comprises two theory Modules and four in-car sessions, as follows:
Module Description Theory  Practice***
6 Accompanied driving* 2 h 2 x 55 min.
7 OEA Strategy (Observe, Evaluate, Act)** 2 h 2 x 55 min.
* From the moment you obtain your learner’s licence, through to the end of the 24 months after you obtain your probatory driver’s licence, you must at all times have a person accompanying you when you drive. The person who is most likely to accompany you during those three years is invited to attend the two theory courses in Module 6, because they are focused on accompanied driving. There are no fees charged to that person.
** The two practical in-car sessions of Module 7 can be taken together, but not those of Module 6.
*** The practical in-car sessions last  55 minutes, which includes the introduction at the beginning and the feedback at the end.
Phase 3, which is called “Semi-Guided Driving”, comprises three theory Modules and six in-car sessions, as follows:
Module Description Theory  Practice
8 Module focused on the notion of speed 2 h 2 x 55 min.
9 Module focused on sharing the road 2 h 2 x 55 min.
10 Module focused on impaired driving (drugs and alcohol) 2 h 2 x 55 min.
In Phase 3, there are two mini-tests given by your monitor. At the end of Phase 3, you will be encouraged to spend more time on the road with your accompanying person, and even to push back the beginning of Phase 4 a bit so that you drive more with your accompanying person.
Phase 4, called “Semi-Guided to Independant Driving”, comprises two theory Modules and five in-car sessions. It is the last phase of your training.
Module Description Theory  Practice*
11 Fatigue and Distractions* 2 h 2 x 55 min.
12  Eco-Driving 2 h 2 x 55 min.
In-Car Session Summary** 1 x 55 min.
During that phase, you will be allowed to take the second knowledge test, the one given by the SAAQQ, if at least 10 months have elapsed since you have obtained your learner’s licence. It is recommanded that you wait until you have finished all your theory classes before you attempt the SAAQ knowledge test. Once you have passed that second knowledge test, you have to wait two more months before you can plan your final on-road examination.
* Observation in-car session. The two first in-car sessions of Phase 4 must be paired, because during one of those hours you will be observing, and during the other hour, you will be observed. In other words, there will be two students in the car and each will in turn drive and observe.

** The In-Car Summary Session is an evaluation done on the road by the driving school. It is practically the same as the SAAQ examination, but it aims at deciding if you have acquired the skills required to pass the SAAQ examination and succeed.

Once you have completed the whole theory program ad the 15 in-car sessions with success, we will issue you a certificate with the mention “Pass”. That certificate is mandatory – you must have it – to be admitted to the final on-road exam by the SAAQ.

The complete process of learning to drive will therefore last a minimum of 13 months.

Pour aller voir notre SITE SPÉCIALISÉ MOTO! Cliquez ICI!

Hide
Show

Apprendre à conduire une auto

Le cours de conduite automobile «Programme d’éducation à la sécurité routière » (PESR) est obligatoire au Québec depuis 2010 pour obtenir un permis de conduire classe 5 – véhicules de promenade.

Particularités du Programme d’éducation à la sécurité routière (PESR)

Le PESR comprend un total de 39 heures d’enseignement, réparties en quatre phases, soit 24 heures de théorie en classe et 15 sorties sur route. Comme la SAAQ exige que la première phase (théorie) dure au moins un mois et que les trois autres phases (théorie et pratiques) se déroulent sur au moins 12 mois, il faut compter un minimum de 13 mois pour compléter la formation et obtenir un permis de conduire probatoire.

Parcours-PESR

Voici le parcours détaillé en vue de l’obtention du permis de conduire classe 5:

 

Cette phase débute lorsque vous vous inscrivez au cours et faites votre premier paiement. Au cours de cette phase d’apprentissage, vous aborderez les questions relatives au véhicule, au conducteur, à l’environnement dans lequel vous conduisez et aux comportemens à risque. Nous nous efforcerons de vous faire connaître les comportements sécuritaires, coopératifs et responsables à adopter lorsque vous conduisez.
Le programme, le matériel didactique, le site Web de la SAAQ et le parcours ou « Dispositif d’apprentissage » vous seront expliqués  et vous parcourrez 5 modules de deux heures chacun:
Module Description Durée
1 Module théorique axé sur le véhicule  2 h
2 Module théorique axé sur le conducteur  2 h
3 Module théorique axé sur l’environnement  2 h
4 Module théorique axé sur les comportements à risque  2 h
5 Retour sur les apprentissages des quatre premiers modules et examen écrit  2 h
L’examen en soi est gratuit, mais vous devrez débourser un certain montant pour obtenir votre permis d’apprenti à la SAAQ. Pour vous aider à planifier votre budget, nous avons créé une page détaillant tous les frais.
Une fois l’examen théorique du Module 5 corrigé et réussi, nous vous remettrons une attestation le confirmant.

Notez bien: En cas d’échec, il faut prévoir un délai avant de reprendre l’examen afin que vous ayez le temps de réviser vos apprentissages, faire ou refaire les exercices proposés en ligne, ou reprendre un ou plusieurs modules. Vous ne pouvez pas accéder à la Phase 2 avant d’avoir terminé la Phase 1 et obtenu votre permis d’apprenti conducteur.

Pour obtenir votre permis d’apprenti conducteur, vous devez vous rendre dans un bureau de la SAAQ muni(e) des documents suivants:
1. Votre attestation de réussite de l’examen théorique
2. Deux pièces d’identité (idéalement, au moins une avec votre photo)
3. Si vous êtes mineur(e), un formulaire de consentement parental (cliquez pour l’obtenir sur le site de la SAAQ)
4. La somme à verser à la SAAQ pour l’émission du permis (cliquez ici pour accéder au tableau des frais à jour)
5. De quoi vous recoiffer: on va prendre votre photo! 🙂
Vous pouvez maintenant passer à la Phase 2.
Une fois votre permis d’apprenti en main, vous entrez dans la Phase 2 de votre formation, ce qui marque le début des 15 heures de formation pratique sur route que vous devez effectuer au total pour obtenir votre permis probatoire.
La Phase 2 vous permettra d’apprendre les manoeuvres de base du véhicule dans des environnements de conduite simples. Nous vous enseignerons les comportements sécuritaires, coopératifs et responsables à adopter. Cette phase comprend deux modules théoriques et quatre sorties sur route, qui s’enchaînent comme le montre ce tableau:
Module Description Théorie  Pratique***
6  Conduite accompagnée* 2 h 2 x 55 min.
7  Stratégie OEA (Observer, Évaluer, Agir)** 2 h 2 x 55 min.
* À partir du moment où vous obtenez votre permis d’apprenti conducteur et jusqu’à la fin des 24 mois suivant l’obtention de votre permis de conduire probatoire, vous devrez en tout temps conduire avec un(e) accompagnateur(trice). La personne qui est la plus susceptible d’être votre accompagnateur(trice) au cours de ces trois années est invitée à assiser aux deux cours théoriques du Module 6, car ils portent sur la conduite accompagnée. Il n’y a aucuns frais pour cette personne.
** Les deux pratiques du module 7 peuvent être jumelées, mais pas celles du module 6.
*** Les cours pratiques durent 55 minutes, ce qui inclut l’introduction au début et la rétroaction à la fin de l’exercice.
La Phase 3, appelée « Conduite semi-dirigée », comprend trois modules théoriques et six sorties sur route, qui s’enchaînent comme suit:
Module Description Théorie  Pratique
8 Module axé sur la notion de vitesse 2 h 2 x 55 min.
9 Module axé sur le partage de la route 2 h 2 x 55 min.
10 Module axé sur la problématique de la conduite sous l’influence de l’alcool et des drogues 2 h 2 x 55 min.
La Phase 3 comporte deux mini-évaluations par votre moniteur. À la fin de la Phase 3, vous serez encouragé(e) à passer plus de temps sur la route avec votre accompagnateur(trice), et même à repousser légèrement le début de la Phase 4 pour vous permettre de conduire plus avec votre accompagnateur(trice).
La Phase 4, appelée « Conduite semi-dirigée à autonome », comprend deux modules théoriques et cinq sorties sur route. C’est la dernière phase de votre formation.
Module Description Théorie  Pratique*
11  La fatigue et les distractions* 2 h 2 x 55 min.
12  L’écoconduite 2 h 2 x 55 min.
Sortie Synthèse** 1 x 55 min.
Au cours de cette phase, vous pourrez prendre le deuxième examen théorique, celui de la SAAQ, si au moins 10 mois se sont écoulés depuis l’obtention de votre permis temporaire. Il est recommandé d’attendre d’avoir terminé les cours théoriques avant de se présenter à l’examen théorique de la SAAQ. Une fois réussi le deuxième  examen théorique exécuté aux bureaux de la SAAQ, vous allez devoir attendre deux mois supplémentaires avant de pouvoir planifier votre examen final sur la route.
* Sortie d’observation. Les deux premières pratiques de la phase 4 doivent être jumelées, car au cours d’une de ces heures, vous serez en observation et durant l’autre heure, vous serez observé(e). En d’autres mots, il y aura deux élèves dans le véhicule et chacun(e) à tour de rôle sera conducteur(trice) et observateur(trice).

** La sortie synthèse est une évaluation faite sur la route par l’école de conduite. Il s’agit pratiquement de la même chose que l’évaluation à la SAAQ, toutefois la synthèse détermine si vous avez acquis les compétences nécessaires à la réussite du cours de conduite.

Lorsque vous aurez complété la totalité du programme théorique et les 15 sorties sur route avec succès, nous vous remettrons une attestation avec la mention « Réussite ». Pour pouvoir vous présenter à l’examen  final sur route de la SAAQ, vous devrez obligatoirement détenir cette attestation.

Le processus total s’échelonnera donc sur une durée minimale de 13 mois.