Check out our special Motorcycle Website! Click here!

Hide
Show
 Categories : Places Seniors' Place

 

The French (France) have gotten rid a while ago of prejudice about seniors and driving. Here is what we find as an introductory statement on the website of their Road Safety Association:

First, let’s kill a very entrenched false belief about seniors and driving: no! you are not globally more dangerous on the road (in fact you actually have less accidents than drivers in other age groups)! You are, however, more fragile, and the consequences of any accident are unfortunately more serious in general. Of course, inevitably, your faculties become more restricted with time… and you may feel a bit less at ease than you used to be when you drive. [Our aim] is to help you remain a safe driver  as long as possible.

Association de prévention routière

Other excerpts are just as interesting on that site:

Nowadays, 70 y.o. is NOT old. Driving is, however, a complex task that requires good physiological capacities and cognitive skills – two things that might be altered with age: your reaction time lenghtens, your eyesight is not as good, especially at night, you don’t hear as well, you take more medications or more often, some of which might impair driving, your decision making is slower and that can be a problem when you pass another vehicle or when you try to merge into a highway. It is therefore your responsability to regularly revisit the issue: are you still competent for driving?, and to as your doctor to assess you if you’re not sure about the answer to that question.

So what should you do, according to the French, to keep driving safely as long as possible?

  • When driving, maintain the habit of choosing various itiniraries
  • Keep in shape physically: 30 minutes of exercize/day
  • Maintain your psychological and mental faculties: read, write, etc.
  • Listen to your body and yourself. Pay attention to what changes: hearing problems, changes in your eyesight, fatigue, etc.
  • Carefully read all notices on your medications, because many do impair driving
  • Test regularly your knowledge of the Road Safety Code and the new regulations related to road safety
  • Take a specialized course to learn strategies that will help you compensate the effets of aging on your driving.

If you can read French you’ll find on their site a few very interesting downloadable documents, including this one, very well done and complete with a quizz and a few tips to help you prolong your driving “career” as long as possible: Avec le temps, comment adapter sa conduite ?

Pour aller voir notre SITE SPÉCIALISÉ MOTO! Cliquez ICI!

Hide
Show
 Catégories : Espace Aînés ESPACES

 

Nos cousins Français ont fait fi depuis belle lurette des préjugés concernant les aînés sur la route. Voici ce qu’ils en disent en guise d’introduction sur leur site:

Commençons d’abord par tordre le coup à une idée reçue bien ancrée : non, vous n’êtes globalement pas plus dangereux que les autres sur la route (vous avez même moins d’accidents que les usagers des autres tranches d’âge) ! En revanche, vous êtes plus fragiles et les conséquences de ces accidents sont malheureusement souvent plus graves. Bien sûr, c’est inévitable, nos capacités diminuent avec les ans… et vous pouvez vous sentir moins à l’aise que vous ne l’étiez lorsque vous conduisez. [Notre objectif] est de vous aider à conduire le plus longtemps possible en sécurité.

Association de prévention routière

D’autres extraits de ce site sont tout aussi intéressants:

Aujourd’hui, on n’est pas vieux à 70 ans. Cependant, la conduite est une tâche complexe qui exige de bonnes capacités physiologiques et cognitives. Or, avec l’âge, certaines d’entre elles se dégradent : le temps de réaction augmente ; la vue baisse, particulièrement la nuit ; on entend moins bien ; on prend plus souvent des médicaments, dont certains sont incompatibles avec la conduite ; la prise de décision devient plus lente, ce qui peut poser un problème en cas de dépassement ou d’insertion sur une voie rapide… Il est donc de votre responsabilité de vous remettre régulièrement en question et de demander l’avis de votre médecin en cas de doute.

Quoi faire, selon eux,  pour continuer à conduire  le plus longtemps possible en toute sécurité?

  • Conserver l’habitude de conduire en effectuant des trajets variés.
  • Se garder en forme physiquement : 30 minutes d’exercice par jour.
  • Entretenir ses capacités psychiques et intellectuelles en lisant, en écrivant, etc.
  • Rester à l’écoute de soi-même et s’occuper de ce qui change; : troubles de l’audition, changemetns dans la vision, fatigue, etc.
  • Lire attentivement toutes les consignes des médicaments, car plusieurs altèrent la capacité de conduire.
  • Tester régulièrement ses connaissances du code de la route et des nouvelles règles de sécurité routière
  • Prendre un ou des cours spécialisé(s) pour apprendre des stratégies afin de compenser  la diminution de ses capacités.

Vous trouverez sur ce site quelques documents à télécharger fort intéressants, dont celui-ci, très bien fait et particulièrement complet, avec un quiz et des trucs pour prolonger votre carrière de conducteur ou conductrice le plus longtemps possible:

Avec le temps, comment adapter sa conduite ?